Housing Advisory Committee

Friday, January 8, 2021

Draft meeting minutes

This meeting was held from 8:30 a.m. to 9:15 am via Zoom

In attendance: Russ Dean, Town Manager; Dave Sharples, Town Planner; Pete Cameron, Planning Board Representative; Lindsay Sonnett and Nancy Belanger. **Also in attendance:** Darren Winham, Economic Development Director; Sarah Wrightsman, Director of Seacoast Workforce Housing and Robert Pruyne, Rockingham Planning Commission. **Absent:** Lovey Roundtree Oliff, Select Board Representative; Tim Roache, Executive Director, Rockingham Planning Commission.

- **a.** Review and approval of meeting minutes: The draft meeting minutes from December 11, 2020 meeting were tabled.
- **b.** Darren Winham, our Economic Development Director was invited to speak with the committee about how our available or lack of available housing stock is affecting our current businesses and potential businesses from coming to Exeter.

Russ Dean talked about how we could merge housing needs and our economic development potential. There was also discussion about how to approach this; state, regional or local. It was decided that we would start with focusing on our local approach and then look at a second regional approach and how this may look. Regionally, only the towns of Exeter and Hampton seem to have an interest in workforce housing.

There was also discussion of having a regional and possibly state meeting with Economic Development Directors in the future.

Sarah Wrightsman discussed some of the upcoming legislation and will keep us updated.

The committee asked Darren to reach out to three to four local businesses and invite them to come to our February 12, 2021 meeting. The committee will provide three to four workforce challenge related questions for each business owner to consider prior to our February 12th meeting.

Our Town Planner, Dave Sharples will give us updates on legislation the NH Planners Association decides to pursue this legislative session.

Our next meeting is scheduled for February 12, 2021.

Respectfully Submitted,

Nancy Belanger, Chair